Ally the Fiddle - Progressive Violin Rock/Metal

Band


…always the joy of playing is coming out of the speakers; the unification of lively played string instruments and the rock and metal sound of guitar, bass and drums pulls the listener into a complex musical universe, which always shows something new and which always shows those high player’s skills. Leads the listener into a melancholic mood or into some bright happiness, invites him to have a wild dance. This is the first time, that Ally additional includes her voice. The lyrics  give the compositions, which are already occupying in the instrumentals, a new dimension. …

Axel Schön, Orkus – Magazin10/13

I N F O

ALLY THE FIDDLE is the soloist project of rock violinist Ally Storch. So the (electrical) violin is uncommonly in the focus, but not in a classical way, but in the wide sound spectrum of Fusion, Progressive Rock and Metal. 2008 the band was founded due the recordings for the CD “Red Unicorn”. Meanwhile the six people from Northgermany can look back on a great amount of club and festival shows, as well as on successful support tours for designated rock giants like U.F.O., Bobby Kimball (Toto), ASP and more.

Since 2010 the band is represented by the booking agency “Crush Concerts” and the record label “Gentle Art of Music“.

„What’s special about Ally The Fiddle’s music is how it places the violin right in the center of both compositions and live performances, rather than employing it as a simple backing intrument for additional colour. While the history of prog rock has its share of bands which featured violinists – often superb and very intriguing stuff – most failed to make the violin truly sound at home in their music, or only produced a very small number of songs where they managed to fully tap the instrument’s potential.

But Ally and her band are very different, they really deliver. Their music is one of a kind, their stage performances are stunning. The violin, as the band’s centerpiece, is played with consummate skill and in turns merges with the power of rock, the sophistication of prog rock, the emotion of folk rock and the harshness of metal. The violin never loses itself within the compositions, turning into a mere accessory, but rather stands strong as the pivotal instrument in a brilliant interplay between the classic instruments of rock.“

Gerd Weidemann

Ally Storch – (E-)Violins/Vocals

Ally is a classical studied violinist, but already decided due her studies to follow a way as a freelance rock musician. So now she plays the violins for Ally The Fiddle, writes the songs and works furthermore as a guest and studio musician for well known bands mainly from the german Independent Music Scene (Knorkator, ASP, Umbra et Imago, Coronatus, Die Apokalyptischen Reiter…), offers a huge diversity in musical styles and looks back to a big amount of recordings and shows. Until 2011 Ally was creating the subject “rock violin” for the Rock and Popschool in Rostock.

Ally is permanent member of the band Subway To Sally, of the ensemble Asps Von Zaubererbrüdern, was 2012 and 2013 replacement for the violinist of the band Schandmaul and is constant substitute for the walking and gala band Walk-a-Tones.

Since 2013 Ally additional uses her warm voice for Ally The Fiddle.

Ally’s personal website: ally-storch.com

Ally at wikipedia.de: Ally_Storch

Robert Klawonn – E-Guitar

Not only very fast fingers, also progressive sounds describe the style and sound of Robert. So he is not only lead guitarist, but also writes modern guitar riffs for the band. He enriched his already impressive skills by masters like Milan Polak, Mathias “IA” Eklundh, Victor Smolski, Marcus Deml, Patrick Rondat, Bumblefoot, Andreas Öberg… Before he was playing with Ally the Fiddle Robert was guitarist of the bands Mainpoint und Friedrich Franz Tanzensemble. At the moment he is additional guitarist of the band Poised from Berlin and since a large amount of years teacher at the Rock and Pop school in Rostock.

Robert’s personal website: robertklawonn.com

Eric Langbecker – E-Guitar

 

Since 2017 Eric supports our rhythm section. He is from Rostock and studies actually at the city’s conservatory ‘Hochschule für Musik und Theater Rostock’ (E-Guitar/Classical Music). He started early to gain experiences in various Metal Bands as former student of Holy Moses’ guitarist Peter Geltat. So he had been for instance lead guitarist of Progressive Rock Band ‘aecotone’. At the moment Eric performs mainly Jazz, Blues and Fusion.

Eric in Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/eric.langbecker

Rouven Paul Haliti – Chapman Stick

 

The latest news in Ally The Fiddle’s line-up is the addition of a Chapman Stick, which Rouven brings in 2017. Besides his studies at the same conservatory like Eric (E-Bass/Classical Music and Upright Bass) he plays in various bands in various styles and genres – with various instruments; Fretless Bass in the Death Metal Band ‚Determination‘ and Chapman Stick, Fretless Bass, Upright Bass and Theremin in the experimental Electro Project ‚CozmicRip‘.

Rouven in Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Rouven-Paul-Haliti

Stefan “Huky” Hukriede – Drums

Drummer Huky’s roots are mainly in folk rock and cover music. He was already playing in uncountable bands: Tears for Beers, Nijinsky Style, Me and the Boys, Skyline, Phil Kenny Band…. Beside his work in Ally the Fiddle Huky is permanent member as percussionist of the ensembles Asps Von Zaubererbrüdern.

Huky in Facebook: facebook.com/stefan.hukriede

Simon Tumielewicz – Bass

Simon joined the band in 2013, after Thorsten Hartung (No More f.i.) retired from his life as musician. Simon is a globe trotter and lived already in a big variety of countires (as Poland, Ireland, Spain…). His former bands are Tossing the Sun and Othis (both in Poland), Gregor Friday (Progressive Rock from Australia) and Gebruder Grim (Germany). 

Simon in Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Syme0n

Pics: Holger Much

Ally the Fiddle - Progressive Violin Rock/Metal

Band

…immer klingt hörbare Spielfreude aus den Boxen, zieht die Vereinigung von lebendig gespielten Streichinstrumenten und dem rockigen/metallischen Gitarren-Schlagzeug-Sound den Hörer in ein komplexes musikalisches Universum, das immer wieder Neues und hohes spielerisches Können offenbart, melancholisch oder beschwingt werden lässt, zum Zuhören oder wildem Tanz animiert. Erstmals bringt Ally selbst sich auf dem Album auch als Sängerin ein. Die Lyrics verleihen den instrumental schon einnehmenden Kompositionen eine weitere Dimension. …

Axel Schön, Orkus – Magazin10/13

I N F O

ALLY THE FIDDLE ist das Soloprojekt der Rockgeigerin Ally Storch. So steht ungewöhlicherweise die Geige im Vordergrund, jedoch nicht klassisch, sondern in ihrer Klangvielfalt, mal elektrisch, mal akustisch in Fusion und Progressivem Rock und Metal. 2008 wurde die Band um die Aufnahmen zur ersten CD „Red Unicorn“ gegründet. Inzwischen kann das Sechsergespann aus Norddeutschland auf schöne Club- und Festivalgigs zurückblicken, aber auch auf erfolgreiche Support-Touren für namhafte Größen, wie U.F.O., Bobby Kimball (Toto), ASP und mehr.

Die Band wird seit 2010 von der Bookingagentur „Crush Concerts“ und seit 2015 von dem Record Label „Gentle Art of Music“ vertreten.

„Das Besondere ist, dass bei der Musik von Ally The Fiddle die Geige nicht als zusätzliches Instrument mit besonderer Klangfarbe daherkommt, sondern im Zentrum der Kompositionen und des Live-Auftritts steht. Es hat in der Vergangenheit der Progrock-Musik zwar Bands mit Violinisten gegeben, das war auch oft interessant und gut anzuhören, aber die Geige blieb häufig ein Fremdkörper oder die Stücke, in denen aus der Geige wirklich rausgeholt wurde, was möglich war, blieben auf einige wenige Songs beschränkt.
Bei Ally und ihrer Band ist das anders, sie liefern eine einzigartige Musik und live eine beeindruckende Bühnenshow ab. Die Geige als zentrales Instrument von Ally-the-Fiddle wird mit höchstem Können gespielt und verbindet sich abwechselnd mit der Power des Rock, der Vielschichtigkeit des Progrock, der Emotionalität des Folkrock und der Härte des Metal. In den Kompositionen geht die Geige nicht als schmückendes Beiwerk verloren, sondern ist DAS zentrale Instrument, kongenial verbunden mit den klassischen Instrumenten der Rockmusik.“

Gerd Weidemann

Ally Storch – (E-)Geigen/Gesang

Ally ist klassisch studierte Geigerin, hat sich aber bereits während des Studiums für die freiberufliche Laufbahn als Rockgeigerin entschieden. Seither spielt sie die Geigen bei Ally The Fiddle und schreibt deren Songs und arbeitet darüber hinaus als Gast- und Studiomusikerin hauptsächlich für bekannte Bands der deutschen Independent-Musikszene (Knorkator, ASP, Umbra et Imago, Coronatus, Die Apokalyptischen Reiter…). Sie bewegt sich in einer großen musikstilistischen Bandbreite und kann auf ein umfangreiches Repertoire an Einspielungen und Aufnahmen zurückblicken. Bis 2011 unterrichtete die Geigerin zudem das eigens eingerichtete Fach „Rockgeige“ an der Rock und Popschule Rostock.
Ally ist zudem die Geigerin der Band Subway To Sally (seit 2016), festes Mitglied des Ensembles Asps Von Zaubererbrüdern, war 2012 und 2013 Vertretung für die Geigerin der Band Schandmaul und ist ständige Aushilfe für die Walking-/Galaband Walk-a-Tones.

Seit 2013 lässt Ally neben den Saiten auch ihre warme Stimme erklingen.

Allys persönliche Website: ally-storch.com

Ally bei Wikipedia: Ally_Storch

Robert Klawonn – E-Gitarre

Nicht nur schnelle Finger, sondern auch progressive Klänge zeichnen das Spiel und die Klangsprache von Robert aus. So ist er nicht nur Leadgitarrist, sondern schreibt moderne Gitarrenriffs für die Songs der Band. Sein ohnehin schon beeindruckendes  Können verfeinerte er mit Meistern, wie Milan Polak, Mathias „IA“ Eklundh, Victor Smolski, Marcus Deml, Patrick Rondat, Bumblefoot, Andreas Öberg… Bevor er bei Ally The Fiddle spielte, war Robert Gitarrist der Bands Mainpoint und Friedrich Franz Tanzensemble. Derzeit ist er festes Mitglied der Berliner Band Poised und ist zudem langjährig Pädagoge an der Rock und Popschule Rostock.

Roberts persönliche Website: robertklawonn.com

Eric Langbecker – E-Gitarre

Seit 2017 stärkt Eric unsere Rhythmusabteilung. Der gebürtige Rostocker studiert derzeitig an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Rostock (E-Gitarre/Klassik). Als ehemaliger Schüler des Holy Moses Gitarristen Peter Geltat sammelte er früh Erfahrungen in verschiedenen Metalbands. Unter anderem war er der Leadgitarrist der Progressive Rock Band ‚aecotone‘. Aktuell ist Eric hauptsächlich als Jazz, Blues und Fusion Musiker unterwegs.

Eric auf Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/eric.langbecker

Rouven Paul Haliti – Chapman Stick

Mit dem Chapman Stick ergänzt Rouven seit 2017 als sechstes Mitglied das Line-Up, um das Klangspektrum der Band sowohl im Studio als auch live noch weiter auszudehnen. Neben seinem Studium (E-Bass/klassischer Kontrabass) spielt er in weiteren Bands unterschiedlicher Genres verschiedene Instrumente; unter anderem seit 2012 Fretless Bass in der Rostocker Death-Metal-Band ‚Determination‘ und seit 2016 Chapman Stick, Fretless Bass, Kontrabass und Theremin in dem experimentellen Elektro-Projekt ‚CozmicRip‘.

Rouven auf Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Rouven-Paul-Haliti

Stefan „Huky“ Hukriede – Drums

Drummer Huky kommt in erster Linie aus dem Folkrock und dem Cover und hat im Laufe seines Lebens bereits in unzähligen Bands gespielt: Tears for Beers, Nijinsky Style, Me and the Boys, Skyline, Phil Kenny Band…. Neben seinem Engagement für Ally the Fiddle ist auch er festes Mitglied als Percussionist des Ensembles Asps Von Zaubererbrüdern.

Huky auf Facebook: facebook.com/stefan.hukriede

Simon Tumielewicz – Bass

Simon stieß erst 2013 zur Band, nachdem sich Thorsten Hartung (No More u.a.) in den wohlverdienten Musikerruhestand zurückgezogen hatte. Simon ist ein Weltenbummler, der schon in vielen Ländern gelebt hat (u.a. Polen, Irland, Spanien…). Seine ehemaligen Bands sind Tossing the Sun und Othis (beide in Polen), Gregor Friday (Progressive Rock aus Australien) und Gebruder Grim (Deutschland). 

Simon auf Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Syme0n

Pictures: Holger Much